Types of procedures

United Kingdom

Country Report: Types of procedures Last updated: 10/07/24


Sonia Lenegan

The following procedures are applied in the United Kingdom:

  1. Regular procedure
  2. Dublin procedure
  3. Admissibility procedure
  4. Border procedure (border and transit zones)
  5. Accelerated procedure

The UK left the EU on 31 January 2020 but remained subject to the Dublin Regulation during the Transition Period (TP). The UK issued guidance explaining how to process cases where a Dublin Regulation responsibility request was made by a Dublin State to the UK prior to the end of the TP at 23h 00 on 31 December 2020 but either no decision was made in relation to that request or a decision was made but the transfer had not taken place before the end of the TP (see Dublin).

Table of contents

  • Statistics
  • Overview of the legal framework
  • Overview of the main changes since the previous report update
  • Asylum Procedure
  • Reception Conditions
  • Detention of Asylum Seekers
  • Content of International Protection