Short overview of the reception system


Country Report: Short overview of the reception system Last updated: 08/04/22


Forum Réfugiés – Cosi Visit Website

Short overview of the reception system

OFII (Office français de l’immigration et de l’intégration) is the administration responsible for the reception of asylum seekers. All asylum seekers are referred to OFII after being registered as asylum seekers by Prefectures.

OFII interviews asylum seekers to assess whether they are eligible to reception conditions. If so, they will be directed to accommodation. In practice, the orientation of asylum seekers to accommodation takes place in the days or weeks following the OFII interview, but only half of them are accommodated in reception centers for asylum seekers. OFII is also in charge of fixing and granting financial allowances. Payment starts after the registration of the asylum claims at the OFPRA. The asylum claim must be sent to OFPRA in a maximum time of 21 days after registration by the Prefecture.

Asylum seekers are only accommodated when there is enough capacity. Yet, places are currently insufficient as a result of which OFII must prioritise cases based on individual circumstances and vulnerability. Persons entitled to reception following a decision from OFII can stay in the centre for 6 months if they are granted international protection or for 1 month if their claim is rejected.

Accommodation centres for asylum seekers provide rooms to sleep and cook (usually common kitchens) as well as assistance from social workers on legal and social issues. Each centre is different, ranging from large buildings with offices and bedrooms or apartments at different locations.

 There are different types of accommodation centres :

  • CAES (centres d’accueil et d’évaluation des situations): these are transit centres which aim toprovide a quick access to reception while evaluating ones’ personal situation so that he or she can be re-directed accordingly;
  • CADA (centres d’accueil pour demandeurs d’asile): these are accommodation centres for all asylum seekers, with the exception of those subject to a Dublin procedure;
  • HUDA (lieux d’hébergement d’urgence pour demandeurs d’asile): these are centres for all applicants, including Dublin applicants.

On 18 December 2020, the Ministry of Interior published its 2021-2023 national reception plan for asylum seekers and the integration of refugees.[1] This plan makes it possible to adapt the reception policy to the migration context and to the specific characteristics of the regions, inter alia through a better distribution of asylum seekers across national territory. It is based on two pillars: better accommodation and support. In 2021, this plan (governed by an order of 7 April 2021)[2] enabled better orientation from the Paris region: 16,000 asylum seekers, 40% of whom under the Dublin procedure, were directed to accommodation in another region.[3] However, this plan had a negative impact on accommodation in these regions, as the local situation has not improved and it is now becoming almost easier to be accommodated from Paris than from other places.




[1] Ministry of Interior, Schema national d’accueil des demandeurs d’asile et d’intégration des réfugiés, 18 Decembre 2020, available in French at :

[2]  Arrêté du 7 avril 2021 pris en application de l’article L. 744-2 du code de l’entrée et du séjour des étrangers et du droit d’asile, NOR : INTV2107330A, available in French at :

[3]  Infomigrants, ‘En 2021, 16 000 demandeurs d’asile ont été répartis dans les régions françaises’, 6 January 2022, available in French at :

Table of contents

  • Statistics
  • Overview of the legal framework
  • Overview of the main changes since the previous report update
  • Asylum Procedure
  • Reception Conditions
  • Detention of Asylum Seekers
  • Content of International Protection
  • ANNEX I – Transposition of the CEAS in national legislation