Access to the territory and push backs


Country Report: Access to the territory and push backs Last updated: 18/03/21


Dutch Council for Refugees Visit Website

There is border control at the external borders of the Netherlands at the European external border at airports, in seaports and along the coast. Mobile Security Supervision (MTV) is the supervision of persons traveling to the Netherlands from another Schengen country at the Belgian and German borders. The checks take place on roads, in trains, on water and in air traffic. In the area immediately behind the border, the Royal Netherlands Marechaussee checks travel documents on a random basis.


Migration control dogs help the Marechaussee to detect hidden persons (stowaways) in, for example, trucks, coaches and buses that cross the borders. They also search ships. In the Dutch ports of IJmuiden and Hoek van Holland, the dogs control ships and containers and other traffic traveling to and from the United Kingdom via ferry.


There are no reports of pushbacks at the Dutch borders.


Table of contents

  • Statistics
  • Overview of the legal framework
  • Overview of the main changes since the previous report update
  • Asylum Procedure
  • Reception Conditions
  • Detention of Asylum Seekers
  • Content of International Protection
  • ANNEX I – Transposition of the CEAS in national legislation