Differential treatment of specific nationalities in detention


Country Report: Differential treatment of specific nationalities in detention Last updated: 08/06/23


Greek Council for Refugees Visit Website

Specific nationalities, i.e. Syrians not subject to the EU-Türkiye Statement and Somalians, previously not subject to detention as their return was not feasible, after the issuance of the new JMD 42799/2021 designating Türkiye as a safe third country for asylum-seekers originating from Syria, Afghanistan, Bangladesh, Pakistan and Somalia, face the risk of detention. Additionally, if they lodge an asylum application under custody, their detention can be prolonged as it is considered that they applied for asylum in order to avoid their return to Türkiye.

Table of contents

  • Statistics
  • Overview of the legal framework
  • Overview of the main changes since the previous report update
  • Asylum Procedure
  • Reception Conditions
  • Detention of Asylum Seekers
  • Content of International Protection
  • ANNEX I – Transposition of the CEAS in national legislation