Place of detention


Country Report: Place of detention Last updated: 30/11/20


Hungarian Helsinki Committee Visit Website

Since 2013, asylum seekers have been detained in asylum detention facilities.[1] At the time of writing, the only functioning asylum detention facility is Nyírbátor, with a capacity of 105 places and 9 asylum seekers detained on 31 December 2019.

In 2017, most asylum seekers were de facto detained in the transit zones. The two transit zones in Röszke and Tompa can accommodate 450 and 250 persons respectively. At the end of 2019, total number of asylum seekers detained in Röszke transit zone was 167, while it was 155 in Tompa transit zone.[2]

[1]Section 31/F(1) Asylum Act and Sections 36/A-36/F Asylum Decree.

[2]Information provided by former IAO, 12 February 2019.


Table of contents

  • Statistics
  • Overview of the legal framework
  • Overview of the main changes since the previous report update
  • Asylum Procedure
  • Reception Conditions
  • Detention of Asylum Seekers
  • Content of International Protection
  • ANNEX I – Transposition of the CEAS in national legislation